Firefox Won’t Play YouTube (Flash) Videos – Solution

Many people are experiencing a problem in which YouTube videos and other Flash content will not play in Firefox. Instead a message appears which says:

“An Error Occurred. Please Try Again Later.”

User forums abound with pleas for help, which are either answered incompetently by support personnel or ignored altogether.

I tried so many things to fix this. I re-installed Flash, disabled many plug-ins, ran CCleaner to purge the browser, re-installed Firefox with personalization retained then deleted, and scoured the unhelpful forums.I even ran a clean-up scan of my registry, which I hate doing. It makes me nervous because making changes to the registry can cause serious problems.

The Solution

For me, the issue turned out to be a conflict within Firefox between Flash and RealPlayer. The solution was to change the settings in RealPlayer as described in the Adobe Forums at http://goo.gl/1C7rA.

If you have the problem and are using an alternate browser, you can watch this video demonstration of the repair:

4 thoughts on “Firefox Won’t Play YouTube (Flash) Videos – Solution

    • Greg, if you don’t have RealPlayer, you don’t have the same problem I had. So my solution won’t help. Like I said, I tried several other things first. The one I didn’t mention is that, before I found the fix that worked for me, I gave up and switched to Chrome as my default browser.

      Chrome is still my default and I use Firefox as secondary. It works OK and I have a sentimental attachment to it, because it’s open source. Brand loyalty, I guess.

Leave a Reply

